Forums

Interview for Abu Dhabi - urgent help required!!!

Last post 19/02/12 at 10:05 by busywoman, 14 replies
Post started by 6mcgonigle on 02/02/12 at 10:29

Rate this topic

Select colour:
  • Offline
    1
    Posted by: 6mcgonigle 02/02/2012 at 10:29
    Joined on 25/11/2008
    Posts 8

    Hey, I have an interview for a teching position this weekend for a school/college in Abu Dhabi. As I have not been to an interview for an overseas position before, I was just wondering if anyone could tell me if the format is much different to an interview in the UK??

    Thanks,

    M.C.

  • Offline
    2
    Posted by: 6mcgonigle 02/02/2012 at 11:17
    Joined on 25/11/2008
    Posts 8

    Hi, don't mind you asking at all. No, it was a recruitment agency that found my CV online and as far as I'm aware, they seem to 'scout' people for schools and colleges in Abu Dhabi.

    I know what you mean about the waithing though, apparently it is a very long process when applying overseas.

    Wishing you luck! 

  • Offline
    3
    Posted by: williamBrian 02/02/2012 at 11:23
    Joined on 15/12/2011
    Posts 11
    I have been told that the interviews tend to be much less formal, almost verging on a chat, but sometimes they are the most difficult. I am also told that they are very interested in extra curricular activities, looking for a 'muck in' attitude. Do you mind me asking what the name of the recruiting agency was, drop me a pm if you prefer. I have a interview this week end also, good luck.
  • Offline
    4
    Posted by: Karvol 02/02/2012 at 11:46
    Joined on 30/06/2008
    Posts 2,638

    6mcgonigle:
    it was a recruitment agency that found my CV online and as far as I'm aware, they seem to 'scout' people for schools and colleges in Abu Dhabi.
     

    The first thing that comes to my mind is scam.

    I wouldn't be in the least bit surprised if they started offeriing a bespoke service where your C.V. will be exclusively presented to selected elite schools in the area for a small fee.

  • Offline
    5
    Posted by: 6mcgonigle 02/02/2012 at 12:02
    Joined on 25/11/2008
    Posts 8

    That thought had also entered my mind but when I looked them up online, they seem genuine enough and the email she sent me seemed to have plenty of information about the package side of things. I mean, the interview/information session is in the Hilton, Manchester - scammers wouldn't operate like tht would they??

  • Offline
    6
    Posted by: Karvol 02/02/2012 at 12:04
    Joined on 30/06/2008
    Posts 2,638

    6mcgonigle:
    I mean, the interview/information session is in the Hilton, Manchester - scammers wouldn't operate like tht would they??
     

    That is exactly how they would operate.

    It may very well be a legitimate company that makes its money by charging fees for recommending prospective clients for jobs.

    Look at the ads themselves. Most of them are only open to Western nationalities. That should tell you enough about them.

  • Offline
    7
    Posted by: 6mcgonigle 02/02/2012 at 12:07
    Joined on 25/11/2008
    Posts 8

    If you wouldn't mind, could you have a look at their website - phoenixgulf.net - and tell me what you think? Worried now that I could be walking into a trap which would be extremely disappointing as I was beginning to relish the opportunity.

  • Offline
    8
    Posted by: Karvol 02/02/2012 at 12:09
    Joined on 30/06/2008
    Posts 2,638

     I am not saying that it is a trap - only go there with your eyes open and be aware.

    This sort of "marketing" ploy is quite common in Abu Dhabi ( or at least was when I lived there ).

    The usual modus operandi is the booking of a 5 star hotel, almost exclusively Western ( read white ) invitees and a hard sell.

  • Offline
    9
    Posted by: ladybump 02/02/2012 at 12:24
    Joined on 08/05/2007
    Posts 21
    It looks dodgy to me, no address in Abu Dhabi given, just a P.O. box number. Also lots of spelling mistakes like 'managment'. Advertises lots of jobs, but no actual names of schools or companies given. Doesn't have any testimonies from any companies it works with. I could be wrong, but I can't see schools using this company.
  • Offline
    10
    Posted by: 6mcgonigle 02/02/2012 at 12:27
    Joined on 25/11/2008
    Posts 8

    The biggest thing that concerned me was the fact that they found my CV online and got in touch with me that way. Maybe I would be saving myself any risk by just applying for international jobs the old-fashioned way and do the contacting myself as opposed to vice-versa...? It just frustrates me to think that this could all be a huge waste of my time!

    Confused, Northern Ireland.

Back to top

Sign up – it’s free!

  • Don’t miss out on the latest jobs
  • Connect and share with friends
  • Download thousands of resources
  • Chat in the forums