Forums

TES Early Years - Forum

Join hundreds of early years practitioners in the TES Early Years group. Find lesson ideas and inspiration, share best practice and get your questions answered by your peers.

Members 9026 Total Posts 54285

Guided Reading in Reception...Please Please help!!

Hi I really hope somebody can help me (again!). To cut a verylong story short I have only just started doing Guided Reading in Reception, and I am being observed on Thursday by both my Literacy subject leader (who also happens to be deputy head), and our CLLD advisor. I have carried out a few guided reading sessions this last week or so in order to be ready for the observation, but today it really hit me that I don't know how to do guided reading in Reception. I thought I did but I didn't. I am in my 2nd year of teaching, and during my training I saw guided reading in year 1, and I carried out guided reading in year 2, but never saw it in reception. I thought I should be getting the children in the group to take turns reading say, a page, and talk about the pictures and things to practise their comprehension skills, but my colleague in the opposite class just asks her children to find and point to certain words that she knows they ought to be able to read/decode. It's really important for my school that this observation goes well, and if anyone can help me or give me any advice I would be so appreiciative!!!! I plan on working with my top group, 2 of whom are currently on brown reading level for individual reading (Cliff Moon levels), and 2 are on pink but will be moving onto brown very soon (so I thought I should use brown level guided reading books). I was also thinking of looking at a non-fiction book as this probably has a lot of scope. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!!!!!

Posted
    Please Log in or Join this group to replyReply