Forums

TES English - Forum

Join hundreds of English teachers in the TES English group. Find lesson ideas and inspiration, share best practice and get your questions answered by your peers. This is also the place to go to debate the latest issues in English teaching.

Members 7543 Total Posts 44912

Please help me! Inference and deduction

Its my first year in Year 6 and I am not sure how I can explain to my bottom children the difference between inference and deduction.  Can anyone help me and point me in the right direction please?

Posted
    Please Log in or Join this group to replyReply

Goodness me!  That's a hard one for anyone.  With most children, you'd be thrilled when they grasped the meaning of either.  Why do you need to differentiate?

Posted
    I agree that it is a tough one. I know with Year 7 when teaching a novel /narrative I have show a slideshow of images connected to the story- (before we have read it) Often a bit of appropriate music helps. Run the slide show a few times. Then give them hard copies and in pairs they have to draw a line between pictures which they think go together. On they white board they can come up and make connections and therefore make inferences between the images. Might be a springboard to some discussion. Hope it is of some use
    Posted

Isn't deduction more factual based, whereas inference has an element of guesswork. if the police find a body in the library with a knife sticking out, the deduction would be that they had been murdered. The inference would be that someone didn't like them. In Kensuke's Kingdom, when water and food are left beside Michael the deduction is that someone else lives on the island. The inference is that they care for Michael, but don't want him to know anything about them.

Posted