How long do I have to complete my NQT year?

TES Newly Qualified Teachers - Forum

Get together with hundreds of newly qualified teachers in the TES New Teachers Group. This is the place to share your experiences and advice from your peers. We’ve also got our NQT expert ready to answer your questions about any aspect of induction

Members 7347 Total Posts 26072
  Please enter a number between 1 and 2 2 »

I graduated last year and looked for jobs then but was unsuccessful. I looked again when new jobs came up and kept applying but got nowhere. So I was working in a coffee shop until Easter time. I would have supplied but as I live in a rural area and can't drive it wasn't an option. I have been learning to drive since I returned from uni last July and booked a test for April this year. Wanting to be organised I contacted the supply agency for my area when I knew my test was booked and began registering with them. They offered me a 5 week contract as a TA in a local school and so I jumped at the chance and quit my job at the coffee shop. Unfortunately I failed my driving test and it took ages for me to become fully registered and cleared with the agency. It wasn't until the beginning of June when I was completely cleared. I haven't been contacted about work since as none has come up suitable to my very narrow criteria. I am still learning to drive and have booked another test. I'm just very worried that already one year of my NQT years has gone and I now feel in a worse situation than I was last year. I have had one interview so far for a teaching job but it was clear that they had already made up their minds before I got in there. However, I loved the experience and was buzzing after I'd taught my activity. I know I am meant to be a teacher it is what I really want to do. I am just very scared that I am running out of time.

So my real questions are:

What conditions go with doing supply as an NQT?

And what happens if I don't complete it in that time?