Which subject has the worst behaviour?

TES Personal - Forum

Join hundreds of teachers getting together and chatting about the stuff that matters to them in the TES Personal Group.

Members 10262 Total Posts 677645

Which subject has the worst behaviour?

Which subject do you feel has the worst behaviour and why? Do you feel there is a subject where pupils are generally well behaved? For me, it must be MFL.
    Posted
    Please Log in or Join this group to replyReply

Good behaviour must surely link with pupil engagement, so I am not sure that there is any one subject that fits all pupils and thus their behaviour.

Best wishes

Meet Theo on line on the TES JobSeekers Forum, every week in print in the TES magazine, or in person at one of the TES Careers Advice Service seminars or individual consultations

I am running the Win that Teaching Job seminar on Sat 8th Dec in London.  CLICK

Posted

Woah, stand away from the MFL!!!  I'm an MFL teacher. My classrooms are a picture of perfection, I'll have you know!  Tongue out

Forget the subject. It's not about the subject.

It's about a teacher who can't inspire / control / manage / whatever you choose to call it.

I am SLT. I go into any number of classrooms and I can guarantee before I start my ... what's it called... ah yes - 'learning walk' - which classrooms will be less 'well behaved' than others.

In our school it's practically none.  Because we have effective staff now. Didnt' used to be like that, mind, and that was down to poor teaching and passive children.

I honestly don't think it's subject specific. If kids like a teacher and see progress in their lessons, they're less likely to play up.

IMHO, natch.

Posted
    pinski1971

It's about a teacher who can't inspire / control / manage / whatever you choose to call it.

...and also it has a bit to do with a management team that support the teacher.