Powerful verbs - activity ideas?

TES Primary - Forum

Join hundreds of primary teachers in the TES Primary group. Find lesson ideas and inspiration, share best practice and get your questions answered by your peers. This is also the place for debate on the latest issues in primary teaching.

Members 25325 Total Posts 188837

Powerful verbs - activity ideas?

Hi - i teach year 3 and am being observed on Wednesday. I'm in phase 2 of a narrative unit at the moment and thought "powerful verbs to create impact/suspense" would be a great lesson. My class are used to VC~OP lessons and we have a display using the super hero theme.
    My problem is that although i feel i am a good teacher I've had a few confidence knocks and where i once could say I've only had good/ outstanding lesson observations my nerves get the best of me and have recently been seen to be satisfactory with elements of god. Obviously I am anxious to improve and would love to get a good observation under my belt.
    My problem is that i am so anxious to show what i can do i tend to over complicate the lesson.
    What i am looking for help with is ideas to get the children really motivated and activities that don't include the tired old "change said to a powerful verb!"
    I'd be really grateful for any suggestions.
    Posted
    Please Log in or Join this group to replyReply
    Hi , I used templates of a bee with a blank space in the centre so that the children could insert their chosen verb. We hung these up around the classroom.
    Group discussion prior to this using a charades activity where the children had to guess the verb.
    Posted
    This may work better for adverbs, but it might still work for verbs:
    What about doing a charades type activity where the child has to act out the verb and the rest of the class have to guess (obviously talking would be necessary in some cases)
    Posted