Level 6 Reading SATs

TES Primary - Forum

Join hundreds of primary teachers in the TES Primary group. Find lesson ideas and inspiration, share best practice and get your questions answered by your peers. This is also the place for debate on the latest issues in primary teaching.

Members 25237 Total Posts 188183

Level 6 Reading SATs

Hello all and Happy Christmas! I'm a secondary school English teacher and have been asked to do some work with a group of G&T Year 5 and 6 students to prepare them for the Level 6 SATs papers. As I usually just do secondary, I have a few questions... * Where can I find examples of the level 6 reading papers, mark schemes and resources? * When do the SATs take place and are they externally marked? * Does anyone have any tips regarding teaching at this level? Any ideas and tips to get me started would be fab!
    Posted
    Please Log in or Join this group to replyReply

We've only had the one level 6 paper recently (ie last year) and the papers were downloadable-but obviously the link is now impossible to find! if you PM me, I can e-mail them to  you.Otherwise you need to look at the level 4-6 KS3 papers ( but not the Shakespeare!) which will give you some ideas of the levelof questionning at level 6. This years papers should have been ordered by the school-so will not be available to download. The Level 6 tests are being externally marked this year and will be sat the week after "normal" testing is over so 21 and 22 May ( but not sure when the english will be)

As the level 6 tests are relatively new, there are few, if any, resources aimed at KS2, you need to look at KS3 material for any help. Have a look at the APP targets for level 6 reading to give you some idea but at thislevel it is almost exclusively inference and deduction and very precise use of vocabulary to express meaning!

Posted