Forums

TES Prospective teachers - Forum

Whether you’re a career changer, thinking about starting a BEd or you’re planning on taking the PGCE route you’ll find lots of advice here. Charlie Taylor will answer new topics containing "Dear Charlie" in the subject.

Members 6252 Total Posts 22334

PGCE Assessment? - written work and exams??

I start a D&T PGCE at Northumbria Uni this Sept.

I have come from a very much design based background, getting a degree in Architecture (assessment almost purely design project based) to working at an architects practice where I effectively had drawings to produce all day.  Part of this has been my lack of skill and confidence in written work, which has got me pretty anxious when I've been reading the forums today!

I've been teaching design workshops for about 3 years now and have gotten very confident in it, through good feedback from students and teachers alike.  All of this pointed me to a career in teaching (despite me being well on track to become an Architect), and I had to make the decision to either study for my Architecture Professional Diploma, or the PGCE.  I'd been accepted onto both, and due to my unhappiness at work (morale decline, 2 paycuts), I chose the PGCE and beginning to think I may not be upto scratch for it.

Im worried now that I've chosen it for the wrong reasons.  I do love the teaching i do, but I'm reading passages on here which are seriously making me second guess my decision!  Or is this just a case of me seeing the worst as noone reports the good stuff!

I have dyslexia problems which I've been up front and honest about, but trying to find out, is a PGCE gained via specific course exams (I dont mean the QTS ones), and a dissertation of any kind?  Roughly what kind of assignments am I to expect? and how frequently?  If its several per week then I'm probs out of my depth.

Posted
    Please Log in or Join this group to replyReply