HELP with RE plan - YR - baby naming ceremony

TES Religious Education - Forum

The TES RE Group is a great source of lesson ideas and inspiration and is the place to share best practice and get your questions answered by your peers. This is also where you go to debate the latest issues in the teaching of RE.

Members 1716 Total Posts 12074

HELP with RE plan - YR - baby naming ceremony

I am a trainee teacher, trying to plan a lesson on a christian baby naming ceremony. Where can I find the learning objectives and some ideas on how to approach teaching this?

It is for YR 2.

Thanks

Posted
    Please Log in or Join this group to replyReply

Definitely a naming ceremony as opposed to a Christening?

Posted

Initially looking at a christian christening, but then looking at a Jewish baby naming ceremony/how they welcome a new baby, before comparing the 2.

Any ideas would be appreciated :)

Thanks

Posted

I'm not a primary teacher but maybe you could talk about them joining school and compare it with a Christening as joining the Church. Do you work in a church school?

Posted

Do you know where the lesson fits into a scheme of work?  Are the main themes in the scheme of work based on religious rituals, belief, identity, worship???

If unsure, i'd probably heavily go down the AO2 'learning from religion' route. 

This way you could focus on the nature of names, a label of someone's identity then go on to examine the nature of identity.  What makes you YOU.  Physical characteristics, emotions, feelings, family, upbringing, religion, soul etc...

Have a look at what some names means (e.g. Matthew = Gift from God) - perhaps even researching the histories/meanings of names of some pupils in your classroom (or finding out for homework)

I'm guessing since its a primary lesson your not teaching Jewish birth ceremonies (including Brit Milah and Pidyon Haben?)